the churchie emerging art prize

the churchie emerging art prize


20 May - 19 August
Tues - Sat: 10am - 5pm


Ground Floor Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts, 420 Brunswick Street,
Fortitude Valley

the churchie emerging art prize profiles the next generation of contemporary artists from across Australia.

the churchie emerging art prize has profiled the next generation of contemporary artists from across Australia since its inception in 1987 at Anglican Church Grammar School. Today, it is known as one of the country’s leading prizes for emerging artists, offering a $25,000 prize pool.

Presented at the Institute of Modern Art since 2019, ‘the churchie’ surveys the compelling and diverse work being produced by early-career artists today. Curated by Sebastian Henry-Jones, this year’s exhibition explores the theme of context, recognising that an artist’s practice does not only occur in the studio, but is also inherently linked to time and place.

This year’s thirteen finalists are: Alrey Batol (VIC) Amanda Bennetts (QLD) Dylan Bolger (QLD) Luke Brennan (NSW) Matthew Brown (WA) Raf McDonald (VIC) Corben Mudjandi (NT) Melody Paloma (VIC) Roberta Joy Rich (VIC) Joel Spring (NSW) Jess Tan (WA) Debbie Taylor-Worley (NSW) Ash Tower (SA) The finalists will have their work exhibited at the IMA from 20 May–19 August, with the Prize Announcement taking place at the gallery on Friday 2 June.

Thanks to generous supporters, ‘the churchie’ offers a prize pool of $25,000, with the overall winner receiving a non-acquisitive $15,000 cash prize donated by long-standing sponsor, BSPN Architecture. Previous winners include Nadia Hernandez, Emily Parsons-Lord, Pierre Mukeba, Sarah Morawetz, Michaela Gleave, Nina Sanadze, Emmaline Zanelli, and more